Are watches good investments for the future?

by amitdevhanda

Screen shot 2013-07-13 at 5.10.45 PM

Panerai PAM00203

 

Screen shot 2013-07-13 at 5.16.09 PM

As the fluctuations in the economy and the market are getting increasingly more unpredictable and unsecure, more and more people are putting their money in tangible things like gold, silver, wine, art and watches? That’s right watches! If you think about it, watches are very transportable, you can take anywhere and some are extremely exclusive and rare and hold or increase in value. Don’t get me wrong, cars are still being purchased for luxury and status, but you can’t take that exotic expensive car with you into the board room like you can with a watch. In my opinion, watches are the ultimate luxury product that you can buy, wear, collect and five to ten years from now make money depending on what you buy and who you listen to.

A great example of this would be the Special Edition Panerai PAM00203 ,which made it’s  worldwide debut in 2005. I remember when this watch came out, I was in shock that Panerai made a special edition watch in stainless steel for the retail price of $19,900. I was blown away with how expensive that seemed at the time. They only made 150 pieces for the world. I researched it more and realized they had found 150 old 8 Day Angelus movements from the 1950’s, which Panerai refinished to modern-day specs to create this incredible Special Edition. This watch exudes Panerais DNA from the 47 mm 1950 stainless steel case, to the 8 Day original Angelus movement, to the incredible dial which has all four original Panerai Arabic Numerals,  a sub second hand next to the nine o’clock, and in Italian is written 8 days, making this completely iconic and distinctive from any other 1950 watch Panerai has ever made till today.

At it’s pinnacle, this watch has achieved record breaking numbers at auction of close to $200,000. Should you be so lucky to find one used in decent shape, your still looking at about $100,000. Talk about an amazing investment! Believe you me, if I had $20,000 lying around at that time, I totally would have done it. This goes to show you that watches are the new investment for the future, and before making that watch purchase, please consider what you are buying and who you are consulting. I am always here and will let you know my thoughts, if I can ever be of service. I feel it’s important to buy a watch because you like the way it looks and feels, but it’s equally important to buy something that holds or increases its value that you can pass down from generation to generation.

Please feel free to contact me with your questions and ideas by filling out the contact form below.

