Chef Tyler Florence favorite watch is Panerai

by amitdevhanda

Screen shot 2013-03-27 at 11.13.29 AM

Screen shot 2013-03-27 at 11.06.44 AM

Tyler Florence wrist shot of Panerai PAM00279 Radiomir GMT Alarm with GP movement

I have been a real fan of celebrity chef Tyler Florence for quite some time. Originally, I started watching his show years ago on the food network because of the incredible watches he wore. To be honest, I didn’t really even care about the food at that time. I became a fan because I am a watch guy and to me Tyler Florence represented the everyday guy teaching people how to cook, but the food was secondary.  He wasnt’ afraid to immerse his hands in a pot full of all kinds of ingredients while wearing an IWC Big Pilot’s watch in stainless steel. That was really cool to me and meant he wasn’t afraid to wear his watches.

Honestly, I think chefs get a really bad rap, because some of them can be real dicks, but Tyler Florence has to be one of the nicest, most genuine people I have had the opportunity to have an encounter with.

Last year before the holidays, I saw him on Jimmy Fallon wearing a Rolex Deep Sea on a Nato strap. This prompted me to reach out to him on Twitter and tell him that I thought he has great taste in watches and I also asked him what his favorite watch is ? Even though I kind of knew it could be a long shot that I would get a response back because he is a very busy man, world-renowned and has a huge following, he graciously responded.  His favorite watch is the Panerai PAM00279 which came out in 2004, This watch is A 42 mm Panerai Radiomir in steel   The watch is a GMT Alarm with the Girard Perregaux Traveler II movement.  Not only did he tell me what his favorite watch is, but he was nice enough to send me a wrist shot of it with the description and amount of pieces made.

What makes him even cooler is that he is someone who truly loves what he does, has incredible passion for the culinary arts, loves the finer things in life, yet he is very relatable humble and a hell of a nice guy.  I wish him nothing but continued success and happiness and I really hope one day I have a chance to interview him on what sparked his watch addiction. Let’s see, you just never know in life what’s around the corner.

